The International Woolmark Prize applications are go

Alongside the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers, the International Woolmark Prize awards are considered the most prestigious for new talent in the fashion industry.

Could 2021 be your year? 2020 has been pretty shit so far, to be honest.

To apply for the enormously coveted International Woolmark Prize, you must have produced commercial ready-to-wear or couture apparel for a minimum of two years (max. eight), demonstrate experience in working with apparel supply chains and evidence yearly growth in sales, as well as showcasing an innovative use of fabrics, textiles and design approach in your work.

An expert panel including Edward Enninful, Kim Jones, Hamish Bowles, Tim Blanks and Takashi Murakami, will then selects the finalists who will each receive a very generous US$70,000 to produce a merino wool collection.

The ultimate winner, however, also receives a whopping US$200,000 in prize money to help take their potential to the next level. In the case of last year’s winner, Emily Bode has gone on to become one of the most exciting emerging labels in the scene. The finalists were of the highest quality too with the likes of A-Cold-Wall*, GmbH and Feng Chen Wang all going on to achieve great things.

So start filling out those forms by 19 June and get in that running.


2020 International Woolmark Prize Winner, Emily Bode.

Related Stories

Sign up for email updates and news

Sign up

Sign up to receive regular news and updates on new issues, special projects, and other news.