While we won’t be seeing the army of celebs, designers and stylists grace The Met’s carpeted steps this year, Vogue has thankfully come up with the next best thing.

TEXT: BEA TAYLOR

The first Monday of May is a date all purveyors of fashion put in their dairy. The Met Gala, also known as the Met Ball, is a fundraising gala for the benefit of the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute, NYC.

This year’s frighteningly relevant theme is About Time: Fashion and Duration, and with Meryl Streep, Emma Stone and Lin Manuel Miranda set to host the much-anticipated event, its consequent cancellation has been felt hard. 

The exhibition itself has been postponed until 29 October, but it has been expertly captured by Annie Leibovitz and Hamish Bowles for you to preview.

As for the gala — well, we’d never be left without any Met content to consume. Vogue is dedicating the whole day to videos of highlights and memorable moments from past years (brought to you by Naomi Campbell, Cardi B and Stella McCartney). The day will conclude with a livestream on YouTube called A Moment with The Met, featuring an address by Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour, a performance by Florence & The Machine and a DJ set from Virgil Abloh. 

Here’s the schedule, so you won’t miss a thing…

Monday, May 4 (Tuesday, May 5 NZST)
10am EDT (2am NZST): Liza Koshy’s Best Red Carpet Moments
3pm EDT (7 am NZST): Life in Looks: Naomi Campbell
6pm EDT (10 am NZST): A Moment with The Met livestream

Tuesday, May 5 (Wednesday, May 6 NZST)
10am EDT (2 am NZST): Met Oral History: Liv Tyler and Stella McCartney
3pm EDT (7 am NZST): Met Oral History: Cardi B and Jeremy Scott 

Wintour said, “It would be impossible to re-create the gala on Monday evening, though I have loved hearing how so many are marking the occasion in their own ways. So instead, I asked a few friends to join me for a simple moment — one that I hope will bring us all a bit of joy.” 

Related Stories